• Home
  • How Do I Support Pre-K Today?
  • Tools for the Campaign
  • Public Relations Tips & Tools
  • Additional Info
  • Contact Us
Public Relations Tips & Tools
Op-Eds: Tips on Submitting

Download Op-Eds: Tips on Submitting
MS Word | PDF

What is an “op ed” and what do you do with it?
An "op ed" is an opinion piece or guest column published in a newspaper. It is called an "op ed" because it usually appears opposite the editorial page. It is different from a standard editorial in that it comes from a reader of the paper, and therefore is not the opinion of the newspaper itself.

A good op ed should pertain to current events. It should stimulate debate and seek to sway readers into considering your point of view. Most newspapers ask that an op ed include between 500 and 750 words.

Who signs an op ed? For this project, an op ed could be signed (and submitted) by your designated Pre-K Today campaign spokesperson. Or, you might find a prominent community or business leader willing to "author" the op ed. The author must support pre-K, of course!

Op eds should be submitted to the newspaper's Editorial Page Editor. See the Media List below for submission information.

Media Lists
Each newspaper contact contains the editorial page editor to whom op eds can be submitted.

For submission of letters to the editor, read the letters section of your newspaper for a fax number or e-mail address. In many papers, letters to the editor are not sent to the editorial page editor.

Allentown Morning Call: Editorial Page Editor is Glenn Kranzley - glenn.kranzley@mcall.com
Op-Eds: Must be between 650-750 words, should be about one issue only. E-mail submissions are preferred: kranzley@mcall.com; or fax to 610/770-3720.
Letters: 250 word limit, but shorter is better. Starting line must include full name, hometown, and a telephone number where you can be reached. Submissions through e-mail: letters@mcall.com; fax: 610/770-3720; or mail: Letters to the Editor, The Morning Call, Box 1260, Allentown, PA 18105.

Altoona Mirror:  Editorial Page Editor is opinion@altoonamirror.com

Bedford Gazette:  opinion@bedfordgazette.com; 814-623-1151 for newsroom

Bucks County Courier Times:  Editorial Page Editor is Guy Petroziello; gpetroziello@phillyBurbs.com

Centre Daily News:  Editorial Page Editor is Rick Kerstetter - rkerstet@centredaily.com

The Citizen’s Voice:  Editorial Page Editor is Jim Gittens; jgittens@citizensvoice.com

The Courier-Express:  Editorial Page Editor is Denny Bonavita; letters@thecourierexpress.com

Daily News (Bedford Area):  Editorial Page Editor is George German; dnews@getwireless.net; Put Attn:  George German in Subject head

Easton Express Times:  Editorial Page Editor is Jim Flagg; jflagg@express-times.com

The Elmira Star Gazette:  opinion@stargazette.com or David Kubissa, Opinion Page Editor; dkubissa@stargazette.com

Erie Times News:  Editorial Page Editor is Bryan Oberle; bryan.oberle@timesnews.com

Harrisburg Patriot-News:  Editorial Page Editor is Dale Davenport; DDavenport@patriot-news.com

Huntingdon Daily News:  Editorial Page Editor is George German; dnews@getwireless.net; Put Attn:  George German in Subject head

Lancaster New Era (afternoon paper):  Editorial Page Editor is James Burchik; jburchik@lnpnews.com.  Fax letters to the editor to (717) 399-6506

Lancaster Intelligencer:  Editorial Page Editor is Earle Cornelius; ecornelius@lnpnews.com; (717) 291-8738

Lebanon Daily News:  Editorial Page Editor is Paul Baker, for both op ed submissions and letters to the editor; PaulBaker@LDNews.com; (717) 272-5611, ext. 138

Mansfield Gazette:  send op eds or letters to the editor to Brian Robinson; brobinson@tiogapublishing.com or fax to: (570) 724-2278.

McKeesport Daily News:  Editorial Page Editor is Bonnie Jean Adams; bjadams@dailynewsemail.com

Philadelphia Daily News: Op-Eds: 450-500 words ideal. Exclusive to Daily News, include contact information. E-mail to burgosf@phillynews.com.
Letters: Submit online at philly.com/mld/philly/contact_us/feedback_np2/.

Philadelphia Inquirer:  Editorial Page Editor is Chris Satullo; csatullo@phillynews.com
Op-Eds: approx. 700 words, include phone number, mailing address. Submissions by e-mail: oped@phillynews.com, or by mail: Commentary Page Editor, Philadelphia Inquirer, Box 41705, Philadelphia, PA 19101 or fax: 215/854-5884.
Letters: approx. 200 words, same contact information as above. If about specific regional issue, refer to inquirer.philly.com/opinion/edweb_e-mailaddresses.asp for more detailed information. For general letters, submit by e-mail: Inquirer.Letters@phillynews.com, fax: 215/854-4483 or mailing address above (addressed to Letters Editor

Pittsburgh/Greensburg Tribune Review: Editorial Page Editor is Colin McNickle; cmcnickle@tribweb.com
Op-Eds: Send to opinion@tribweb.com or fax to 724/838-5171.
Letters: 200 words or less. Include contact information. Guidelines, online submissions: pittsburghlive.com/x/tribune-review/opinion/letters/send or e-mail: opinion@tribweb.com or mail Letters to the Editor, Tribune-Review, 622 Cabin Hill Drive, Greensburg, PA 15601 or fax 724/838-5171.

Pittsburgh Post-Gazette:  Editorial Page Editor is Tom Waseleski; twaseleski@post-gazette.com
Op-Eds: 600-800 words of particular interest in the local area, but willing to consider longer pieces. E-mail opinion@post-gazette.com, no attachments.
Letters: 250 words or less. E-mail letters@post-gazette.com or mail to Letters to the Editor, Pittsburgh Post-Gazette, 34 Blvd of the Allies, Pittsburgh, PA 15222, fax: 412/263-2014.
To submit online: post-gazette.com/contact/comments_form.asp?ID=40.

Pottstown Mercury:  Editor is Nancy March; 610-970-4470; nmarch@pottsmerc.com or City Editor Tony Phyrillas; tphyrillas@pottsmerc.com

The Record Argus:  Editorial Page Editor is Natalie Kennedy; argusnews@rrbiznet.com; (724) 588-5000

Scranton Times:  Editorial Page Editor is Pat McKenna; pmckenna@timesshamrock.com
letters@timesshamrock.com; 1-800-228-4637 

Warren Times Observer:  Managing Editor, Jude Dippold; jdippold@timesobserver.com

Williamsport Sun Gazette:  Editorial Page Editor is Dave Troisi; dtroisi@sungazette.com

Wilkes-Barre Times Leader:  Managing Editor, David Iseman; diseman@leader.net; 570-829-7176

Top