• Home
  • How Do I Support Pre-K Today?
  • Tools for the Campaign
  • Public Relations Tips & Tools
  • Additional Info
  • Contact Us
Public Relations Tips & Tools
Letter to Editor: Tips on Submitting

Download Letter to Editor: Tips on Submitting
MS Word | PDF

Letters to the editor allow you to offer a short rebuttal to an article or commentary, or add a crucial missing perspective. Most letters should be 150-250 words.

  • Keep it short. Respond quickly to the article you've read (note the headline and date it ran). Make your points short and specific. It's better that you edit your words than the outlet cut what you consider to be your key point.
  • Be factual but not dull. State important facts that back up your point. Humor helps.
  • Pick a messenger. Find a well-known person to sign the byline. Identify the author's expertise and/or affiliation. Include full contact information and day and evening phone numbers.
  • Timing is everything. Because of the volume of submissions at national newspapers, getting in a letter the same day will increase your chances of getting published. Send it by e-mail in the body of the text, not as an attachment.
  • Use alternate forums to respond. Many media outlets have online reader forums and interactive online discussions with reporters. Some news magazine shows encourage viewers to respond while a show is on air, and then read selected e-mails in real time. These e-mails should be short, clear and punchy – only a few sentences will be used. (Tips courtesy of CommunicationsConsortiumMediaCenter; www.ccmc.org)

For submission of letters to the editor, read the letters section of your newspaper for a fax number or e-mail address. In many papers, letters to the editor are not sent to the editorial page editor.

Allentown Morning Call: Letters: 250 word limit, but shorter is better. Starting line must include full name, hometown, and a telephone number where you can be reached. Submissions through e-mail: letters@mcall.com; fax: 610/770-3720; or mail: Letters to the Editor, The Morning Call, Box 1260, Allentown, PA 18105.

Altoona Mirror: Editorial Page Editor is opinion@altoonamirror.com

Bedford Gazette: opinion@bedfordgazette.com;

The Courier-Express: letters@thecourierexpress.com

The Elmira Star Gazette: opinion@stargazette.com

Erie Times News: Editorial Page Editor is Bryan Oberle; bryan.oberle@timesnews.com

Harrisburg Patriot-News: Limit letters to 200 words and include writer’s name, address and phone number. E-mail to letters@pnco.com or fax to 717-255-8456

Huntingdon Daily News: Editorial Page Editor is George German; dnews@getwireless.net; Put Attn: Letter to Editor in subject head

Lancaster New Era: E-mail letters to: neweraLetters@lnpnews.com

Lancaster Intelligencer: E-mail letters to: IntellLetters@lnpnews.com

Lebanon Daily News: Editorial Page Editor is Paul Baker, for both op ed submissions and letters to the editor; PaulBaker@LDNews.com; (717) 272-5611, ext. 138

Mansfield Gazette: send op eds or letters to the editor to Brian Robinson; brobinson@tiogapublishing.com or fax to: (570) 724-2278.

McKeesport Daily News: Editorial Page Editor is Bonnie Jean Adams; bjadams@dailynewsemail.com

Philadelphia Daily News: Letters: Submit online at philly.com/mld/philly/contact_us/feedback_np2/.

Philadelphia Inquirer: Letters: approx. 200 words, same contact information as above. If about specific regional issue, refer to inquirer.philly.com/opinion/edweb_e-mailaddresses.asp for more detailed information. For general letters, submit by e-mail: Inquirer.Letters@phillynews.com, fax: 215/854-4483 or mailing address above (addressed to Letters Edito

Pittsburgh/Greensburg Tribune Review: Letters: 200 words or less. Include contact information. Guidelines, online submissions: pittsburghlive.com/x/tribune-review/opinion/letters/send or e-mail: opinion@tribweb.com or mail Letters to the Editor, Tribune-Review, 622 Cabin Hill Drive, Greensburg, PA 15601 or fax 724/838-5171.

Pittsburgh Post-Gazette: Letters: 250 words or less. E-mail letters@post-gazette.com or mail to Letters to the Editor, Pittsburgh Post-Gazette, 34 Blvd of the Allies, Pittsburgh, PA 15222, fax: 412/263-2014.
To submit online: post-gazette.com/contact/comments_form.asp?ID=40.

Pottstown Mercury: Editor is Nancy March;
610-970-4470; nmarch@pottsmerc.com or City Editor Tony Phyrillas;
tphyrillas@pottsmerc.com

The Record Argus: Editorial Page Editor is Natalie Kennedy; argusnews@rrbiznet.com; (724) 588-5000

Scranton Times: letters@timesshamrock.com; 1-800-228-4637

Warren Times Observer: Managing Editor, Jude Dippold; jdippold@timesobserver.com

Williamsport Sun Gazette: Fill out form here to send letter:
http://209.23.225.106/vnr/add_submission.asp?categoryID=170&publicationID=48
Editorial Page Editor is Dave Troisi; dtroisi@sungazette.com

Wilkes-Barre Times Leader: Send letters to editor to Jean LaCoe: jlacoe@timesleader.com

Top